User Log On

This post has been viewed 900 times.

Printable Version
Email to a Friend
Subscribe: Email, RSS

Mission Lesson April 4: What are the Beatitudes?

Posted on Mon, Apr 5, 2004

April 4:  What are the Beatitudes?

            Matthew 5:1-12; Exodus 20; Luke 6:20-26


            The Beatitudes are teachings of Jesus on what it means to live as Kingdom people.  They are the equivalent of the Ten Commandments given to Moses, which explained how God expected the Israelites to live.  Beatitude means “blessing”.  The Beatitudes are specific blessings given to promote what will come to be known as great Christian virtues.

            Matthew 5:1-12 outlines the nine Beatitudes or blessings as pr9mised by God.  Among them are promises for “the peacemakers: for they shall be called the children of God” (Matt. 5:9).

            In the first quarter of our lessons, we studied the love God has for us and the love we as Christians are required to show toward one another.  Love is not a companion of dissension or confrontation.  We are charged to show love, even when our Christian love is called to the test.

   Discussion: Mission Lesson April 4: What are the Beatitudes?

No messages have been posted.

You must first create an account to post.